Cool Riffs
Guitar Licks
Guitar Scales
Guitar Exercises
Guitar Chords
Guitar Tuner
Tablature Lessons
My Equipment

Subscribe To This Site
Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines

Pentatonic Scale

The Pentatonic Scale is a music scale with 5 pitches to the octave. "Penta" stands for five and "Tonic" means tone. Practice each scale pattern ascending and descending using alternate picking at a speed at which you can do the entire pattern cleanly.

If you are new with guitar scales, it is wise to start here, as the modes and fingerings are super easy to learn.

Here are the 5 modes or patterns on Video and Tablature:

Pentatonic Scale Mode 1
Pentatonic Scale Mode 2
Pentatonic Scale Mode 3
Pentatonic Scale Mode 4
Pentatonic Scale Mode 5

Now learn other scales
with video and tablature.
Click on the name to enter.

- Blues Scale
- Minor Scale
- Major Scale

An interesting resource you can use to keep your tempo while practicing the different patterns is the Metronome. Experiment at low speeds until you can play the modes cleanly, then increase the speed.

Download here the 5 Scale Patterns in PDF format to practice while offline. If the file opens in your browser select "FILE" then "SAVE PAGE AS".

Return from Pentatonic Scale to Guitar Scales

Return to Home Page